Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

17571564
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh | 2013, Touchstone (book cover from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1757164-hyperbole-and-a-half)

(A shorter version of this review is on my Goodreads page.)

I love this book! The stories about the dogs still get me (I’ve read them all before when it was still a blog), and the illustrations are hilariously on point. The prose itself is funny enough to stand by itself, but the inclusion of illustrations (that sometimes tell the story more than the written text) makes the humor more solid. Some illustrations, in fact, can also stand by themselves, as if to form a comic strip. Though I loved it, I rated it 4 out of 5 stars because there were some parts where I found the illustrations more interesting than the prose.

Brosh not only makes good use of hyperbole/exaggeration but is also able to control it and it doesn’t scream at you to force you to laugh. I think it’s what makes the book great.

The inclusion of screen caps of the goose video was so funny that I laughed out really ugly laughs. It didn’t help that I was in a clinic when I was reading it.

If you’re looking for a quick and funny read, this is it, this is the book that you need. It also makes for a great gift for someone who’s into David Sedaris. I find their senses of humor almost on the same plane.

Leave a Reply

